Diaphragm Carburetors - Ibea vs Tillotson?

Areomyst

Scootin' America!
I've been looking at a few different diaphragm style carbs, and I was wondering if anyone has used Tillotson style carbs on scooter setups before. They look a good bit different.

km114.jpg

This is the Tillotson. Tillotson's website states that it is good for kart use. I assume it could be made to work with a scoot as well, provided the proper inlet modifications/flange were taken care of.

ibeal2.jpg

Here's a photo of the Ibea carb. They have both 2 and 3 jet models available. I assume the 3 jet model will be a little bit more "fine tunable". Many weed whacker and chainsaw carburetors work off of the same principals that these do, and I have some experience with the smaller ones, but not with these particular sizes, and not on scooter or karting setups.

Experience is the best teacher. :p The Tillotson is a good bit cheaper, but it does not look like a real performance carburetor. What do you all think? This will be used with an EVO setup eventually. For now, I am simply exploring possibilities, and I am not making a purchase yet.

As important as carburation is in 2 strokes, I don't really want to take any large risks (especially with a high end cylinder) , but I'd like to know if anyone else has explored this possibility. I know people here have used the Ibea carb. The Tillotson looks more like a lawn and garden type, and not as suited for performance tuning but I'd like to know if anyone's tried.

When push comes to shove, I want something different. Seems like more and more people over here are going with EVO, so I may turn a different direction when it comes time to purchase the parts...

~Josh

Advertisement - register to remove this

I have tried.

The Ibea is the better one, far better quality.
The picture of your ibea is the three jet model. The extra is the one in the intake. U won`t be using that. So use the 2 jet or the three with the extra screwed 'off'.